Gem  LH

Built 1865  James D. Burdis, North Shields    (Wood)
   
Yard No  
   
Owner at New John Gilchrist, Leith Edinburgh (owner/ manager)
   
ID no 51070
   
Launch Date 1865
   
Completed 1865
   
Gross Tons 79
   
Nett 19
 
Engine 43 hp   Side Lever L.1-cyl by
   
Length 80.5ft
   
Breadth 17.7ft
   
Depth 9.5ft
 

  

Owners  
07.03.1865 Registered at Leith
15.11.1866 Towed the "Best Bower" (311g/1854) en route Hamburg to Leith, into Leith from a few miles east of the May Island, Firth of Forth.
18.12.1878 Towed the brig "Scotscraig" (240g/1866) from a dangerous position off Fidra, Firth of Forth to the safety of Leith Roads.
11.03.1879 At Edinburgh High Court, John Gilchrist and the crew of tug "Gem" claim 350 salvage for services rendered in towing brig "Scotscraig", awarded 125..
Pre1881 Converted to a trawler.
21.12.1881 Picked up the body of a drowned fisherman 15 miles east of the May Island, Firth of Forth and landed it at Leith.
01.03.1882 Towed the derelict barque "Sophie" of Hull into Leith from east of Dunbar, crew had been rescued by the Dunbar lifeboat after she got into difficulty during a NE storm.
28.08.1883 Landed the body of Alexander McIndoe (22) of Kirkcaldy at Leith, the body had been trawled up approx 3 miles east of Inchkeith Firth of Forth, Mr McIndoe had been lost from a small boat a week earlier.
17.06.1884 Towed into Leith with her steering gear disabled.
Pre1885 Owned by William Boyne, Leith Edinburgh.
20.02.1885 Towed into Leith with engines disabled.
1889 Owned by David Sinclair, Grangemouth.
1891 Sold as scrap.
1891 Leith registry closed.